The Savoia Square is famous today for the imposing Baveno granite obelisk, 21 meters high, erected in 1853 in memory of the Siccardi laws of 1850. The idea of erecting a celebratory monument for the controversial laws of the Minister of Justice and Senator Count Giuseppe Siccardi (who abolished the ecclesiastical forum) was already in 1851, on the initiative of the Turin newspaper Gazzetta del Popolo. The obelisk was designed by the painter and sculptor Luigi Quarenghi and the supporters of the project (including the director of the Gazzetta del Popolo, Giovanni Battista Bottero) proposed to place it in Piazza Carignano. Not without bitter discussions with the Turin clergy, the Archbishop Luigi Fransoni, on 23 November 1853 the monument was inaugurated here, as one of the phrases engraved on the obelisk recalls:
«Abolished by Law IX April MDCCCL the ecclesiastical forum, people and municipality placed IV March MDCCCLIII»
(Epigraph on the monument)
The monument also contains the names of the 800 municipalities that enthusiastically supported the work, carved on all sides. On the day of the laying of the first stone, June 17, 1852, numbers 141 and 142 of the Gazzetta del Popolo, a copy of the Siccardi law, coins, rice seeds, breadsticks and a bottle of Barbera wine were walled in the base. Fruit of the anti-clerical ideology, it was deliberately placed in a square near the Sanctuary of the Consolata, seat of the main city devotion, and in Palazzo Barolo, where the Catholic Giulia Falletti of Barolo resided.
During the Second World War, fighting in the city streets threatened to knock down the obelisk: fighters stationed in Corso Siccardi, in the direction of Via Cernaia, fired a few mortar rounds in the direction of Piazza Savoia, damaging the monument and causing it to falter; remained standing, it was restored after the war.
A second restoration, in 1993, cleaned the surface and the wide staircase.
Location : Piazza Savoia
Showing posts with label monumento. Show all posts
Showing posts with label monumento. Show all posts
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Angelo Fausto Coppi Monument
Angelo Fausto Coppi, was an Italian cyclist, the dominant international cyclist of the years each side of the Second World War. His successes earned him the title Il Campionissimo, or champion of champions. He was an all-round racing cyclist: he excelled in both climbing and time trialing, and was also a great sprinter. He won the Giro d'Italia five times (1940, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1953), the Tour de France twice (1949 and 1952), and the World Championship in 1953. Other notable results include winning the Giro di Lombardia five times, the Milan–San Remo three times, as well as wins at Paris–Roubaix and La Flèche Wallonne and setting the hour record (45.798 km) in 1942.
Located in Ignazio Michelotti park, at the end of the pedestrian bridge of piazza Chiaves, elected the monument in memory of the great cyclist, Angelo Fausto Coppi.
Located in Ignazio Michelotti park, at the end of the pedestrian bridge of piazza Chiaves, elected the monument in memory of the great cyclist, Angelo Fausto Coppi.
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Obelisk At Piazza Statuto
Already in the Roman era this western part of the city, where the sun sets and darkness begins, was considered a poor area. For
this reason, beyond the Porta Segusina, more precisely towards the
slope that currently leads to merge with Corso Regina Margherita,
convicted were crucifixed and deads were buried. This area was named precisely vallis occisorum (hence the name of the
Valdocco area) and a vast necropolis took place which included the
present area of Corso Francia up to current via Cibrario and over
Prince Eugene.
In 1864, the square was the scene of bloody clashes of the riots for the transfer of the capital.These historical precedents contributed to the belief that the square had something evil, until they become, as part of the legends of magical Turin, the vertex of the triangle of black magic (the others would be London and San Francisco). To be precise, it is believed that the summit of the triangle falls at the point indicated by a small obelisk with an astrolabe on top, located in the border of the small garden in front of the monument of the railway tunnel of Frejus.
Actually this obelisk was erected in 1808 on a geodetic point, in memory of an old trigonometric calculation of 1760 on the length of a portion of the earth's meridian (the Gradus Taurinensis), performed along with other geographic points in Piedmont municipalities, in Rivoli (in which there is an twin obelisk ), in Andrate and Mondovi, by the famous Piedmontese mathematical geophysicist Giovanni Battista Beccaria (the obelisk in fact, is also called "spire Beccaria"). To the latter it was also called the small stretch of the course (which was also the shortest course of Turin, 100 m, whose primacy then went over Ciro Menotti, just 60 m away) running from the obelisk to the garden Corso Principe Eugenio.Finally, at the center of the square near the fountain of Frejus, there is access leading to the sewer system here has its main hub. This factor also favored the emergence of legends and beliefs who want the Square as the center of negative magic or even the point of entry of one of the three "Alchemical Caves" that would be present in the city.There are organized tours that include the square as one of the main stages.
In 1864, the square was the scene of bloody clashes of the riots for the transfer of the capital.These historical precedents contributed to the belief that the square had something evil, until they become, as part of the legends of magical Turin, the vertex of the triangle of black magic (the others would be London and San Francisco). To be precise, it is believed that the summit of the triangle falls at the point indicated by a small obelisk with an astrolabe on top, located in the border of the small garden in front of the monument of the railway tunnel of Frejus.
Actually this obelisk was erected in 1808 on a geodetic point, in memory of an old trigonometric calculation of 1760 on the length of a portion of the earth's meridian (the Gradus Taurinensis), performed along with other geographic points in Piedmont municipalities, in Rivoli (in which there is an twin obelisk ), in Andrate and Mondovi, by the famous Piedmontese mathematical geophysicist Giovanni Battista Beccaria (the obelisk in fact, is also called "spire Beccaria"). To the latter it was also called the small stretch of the course (which was also the shortest course of Turin, 100 m, whose primacy then went over Ciro Menotti, just 60 m away) running from the obelisk to the garden Corso Principe Eugenio.Finally, at the center of the square near the fountain of Frejus, there is access leading to the sewer system here has its main hub. This factor also favored the emergence of legends and beliefs who want the Square as the center of negative magic or even the point of entry of one of the three "Alchemical Caves" that would be present in the city.There are organized tours that include the square as one of the main stages.
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Lion And The Town
The lion is part of the monument erected in honor of Giuseppe Garibaldi.
Along Lungo Po Armando Diaz and facing via Dei Mille, it is quite a prominent feature....
Along Lungo Po Armando Diaz and facing via Dei Mille, it is quite a prominent feature....
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Monument In Piazza Castello
Another monument in piazza Castello.
On the side facing Via Po, is the work of Eugenio Baroni dedicated to Emanuele Filiberto of Savoy-Aosta.
On the side facing Via Po, is the work of Eugenio Baroni dedicated to Emanuele Filiberto of Savoy-Aosta.
Sunday, April 7, 2013
Vittorio Emanuele II
Victor Emmanuel II (Vittorio Emanuele Maria Alberto Eugenio Ferdinando Tommaso; 14 March 1820 – 9 January 1878) was king of Sardinia from 1849 until, on 17 March 1861, he assumed the title King of Italy to become the first king of a united Italy since the 6th century, a title he held until his death in 1878. The Italians gave him the epithet Father of the Homeland.
Monument of Vittorio Emanuele II in Torino.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)







