In
1906, the south side of the palazzo Barolo was demolished to widen and
rectify the current Via Corte d'Appello: in the street pavement the
trace of the original perimeter of the building still remains. Following
the demolitions, a terrace was built in place of a pre-existing
courtyard and the Green Chamber was rebuilt, which contains a fresco by
Luigi Morgari representing The Wedding of Peleus and Teti.
Guest
of the Falletti Marquises after the publication of "Le mie prigioni",
the writer Silvio Pellico stayed for many years in the palace, whose
room is part of the tour of the Palazzo museum. Pellico helped Giulia di
Barolo in her works of charity, even teaching in schools founded by the Marchesa.
The
staircase occupies the central space of the building in place of the
traditional location on the side as in the typical seventeenth-century
palaces. The
decorative arrangements of the ground floor and some rooms on the piano
nobile date back to the end of the seventeenth century; the stuccos are by Pietro Somasso, the paintings by Francesco Trevisani and the frescoes by Legnani.
Showing posts with label Palazzo Barolo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Palazzo Barolo. Show all posts
Saturday, May 26, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Palazzo Barolo
The Barolo palace (also Palazzo Falletti di Barolo) is a patrician residence in Turin. It
is home to the Barolo Opera which, according to the will of the
Marchesa Giulia, has the task of continuing the activities of promoting human
and social service that Giulia and her husband Tancredi had
started.
The building, which stands in Via delle Orfane, was built at the end of the seventeenth century by Gian Francesco Baroncelli as a renovation of the house already owned by Count Ottavio Provana di Druento, "first squire" and "great guardarobiere" of Vittorio Amedeo II of Savoy .
In the palace lived the only daughter of Count Ottavio, Elena Matilde, with her husband, Marquis Gabriele Falletti di Barolo who, with three children born in the marriage, left the palace and his wife when the father-in-law did not give his daughter the rich dowry already promised at the time of marriage.At age 26, Elena Matilde committed suicide by throwing herself out of her bedroom window.
In 1727 it was inherited by Ottavio Giuseppe, the eldest son of Elena and Gabriele Falletti di Barolo, who entrusted the modification to Benedetto Alfieri around the middle of the eighteenth century to adapt it to the rococo style. The palace was the residence of the Falletti family up to the married couple Tancredi (who died in 1838) and Giulia di Barolo (who died in 1864), with whom the family died out. They left the palace at the Opera Pia Barolo foundation.
The building, which stands in Via delle Orfane, was built at the end of the seventeenth century by Gian Francesco Baroncelli as a renovation of the house already owned by Count Ottavio Provana di Druento, "first squire" and "great guardarobiere" of Vittorio Amedeo II of Savoy .
In the palace lived the only daughter of Count Ottavio, Elena Matilde, with her husband, Marquis Gabriele Falletti di Barolo who, with three children born in the marriage, left the palace and his wife when the father-in-law did not give his daughter the rich dowry already promised at the time of marriage.At age 26, Elena Matilde committed suicide by throwing herself out of her bedroom window.
In 1727 it was inherited by Ottavio Giuseppe, the eldest son of Elena and Gabriele Falletti di Barolo, who entrusted the modification to Benedetto Alfieri around the middle of the eighteenth century to adapt it to the rococo style. The palace was the residence of the Falletti family up to the married couple Tancredi (who died in 1838) and Giulia di Barolo (who died in 1864), with whom the family died out. They left the palace at the Opera Pia Barolo foundation.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)















