Borgo San Paolo (Borgh San Pàul in Piedmontese), or simply San Paolo, is a district located in the western part of the city of Turin, belonging to District 3, together with the Lesna, Cenisia, Pozzo Strada and Cit Turin districts, plus the small Rione Lancia, so called because it hosted the Turin car manufacturer Lancia.
At the end of this street is the San Paolo skyscape.
Location : Borgo San Paolo
Friday, February 7, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Portici Series Porta Palazzo
Porta Palazzo is more known for its huge open air market and its ethnic diversity, its arcade therefore is often overlooked.
Not as well decorated and as grand as those in other major streets, but it does has its own characteristical charm.
Location : Porta Palazzo
Not as well decorated and as grand as those in other major streets, but it does has its own characteristical charm.
Location : Porta Palazzo
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Al Bicerin
Bicerin is a traditional hot drink native to Turin, Italy, made of espresso, drinking chocolate, and milk served layered in a small glass.
The word bicerin is Piedmontese for "small glass" and is the equivalent of Italian bicchierino (diminutive of bicchiere, or “glass").
This coffee beverage has existed since the 18th century and was praised by Alexandre Dumas in 1852. It is believed to be based on the 17th century drink bavarèisa ("Bavarian"): the key distinction is that in a bicerin the three components are carefully layered in the glass rather than being mixed together.
Everywhere in Torino, you can find bars and caffè offering Bicerin, but the best place to try this drink is at the more than 200 years old Caffè Al Bicerin .
Caffè al Bicerin, sits across from the Santuario della Consolata, a historic coffeehouse in Torino’s piazza della Consolata, has been serving the drink since the 18th century.
Location : Piazza Della Consolata
The word bicerin is Piedmontese for "small glass" and is the equivalent of Italian bicchierino (diminutive of bicchiere, or “glass").
This coffee beverage has existed since the 18th century and was praised by Alexandre Dumas in 1852. It is believed to be based on the 17th century drink bavarèisa ("Bavarian"): the key distinction is that in a bicerin the three components are carefully layered in the glass rather than being mixed together.
Everywhere in Torino, you can find bars and caffè offering Bicerin, but the best place to try this drink is at the more than 200 years old Caffè Al Bicerin .
Caffè al Bicerin, sits across from the Santuario della Consolata, a historic coffeehouse in Torino’s piazza della Consolata, has been serving the drink since the 18th century.
Location : Piazza Della Consolata
Labels:
al bicerin,
Bar,
bicerin,
caffè,
Piazza Della Consolata,
Torino,
Turin
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Living By La Mole
La Mole being the symbol of Turin, is a major landmark and tourist attraction. Just in front of it is a three storey building with housings, I always immagine how it is feel like living so near to this gorgeous, famous building of Turin?
Location : Via Gaudenzio Ferrari
Location : Via Gaudenzio Ferrari
Monday, February 3, 2020
San Lorenzo
The Royal Church of Saint Lawrence (Italian: Real Chiesa di San Lorenzo) is a Baroque-style church in Turin, adjacent to the Royal Palace of Turin. The present church was designed and built by Guarino Guarini during 1668-1687.
The Duke Emmanuel Philibert, Duke of Savoy was one of the leaders of the Habsburg armies of his cousin Philip II of Spain; they decisively defeated the French armies in the Battle of Saint-Quentin in Northern France on 10 August 1557, the Feast of St. Lawrence (San Lorenzo), which affected the outcome of the Treaty of Cateau-Cambrésis; in which, the Savoy, including Turin, was returned to the rule of the mercenary duke. That the Battle occurred on the Saint's feast instigated Phillip's denomination and design of the palace of El Escorial. Emmanuel Philibert, on his return to Turin in 1562, renovated the old ducal chapel of Santa Maria ad Presepae, which is still present near the entrance, and erected this church dedicated to St. Lawrence. Construction of the contemporary church began in 1634.
The architect Guarino Guarini was a great innovator in Baroque principles first developed by the great Roman Baroque architect Francesco Borromini, in particular the play with optical effects and organic "deconstruction" of the classical orders and principles of column and entablature. However, in San Lorenzo Guarini took these further. The ground plan is a kind of square which becomes an octagon at the level of the entablatures above the columns only to change again to become a Greek cross at the level of the pendentives of the vaults. Again, the base of the dome is circular in plan yet the lantern above it octagonal. The dome itself is supported by eight ribs forming a lattice similar to those found in mosques and Romanesque churches in Spain. To this superposition of - by the standards of convention - contradictory central plans is added an elliptical choir. The high altar, separated from the nave by a convex and concave archway receives natural light from a hidden dome, devices drawn from the other key Roman Baroque architect Gian Lorenzo Bernini.
( Text From : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Lorenzo,_Turin )
Location : Piazza Castello
The Duke Emmanuel Philibert, Duke of Savoy was one of the leaders of the Habsburg armies of his cousin Philip II of Spain; they decisively defeated the French armies in the Battle of Saint-Quentin in Northern France on 10 August 1557, the Feast of St. Lawrence (San Lorenzo), which affected the outcome of the Treaty of Cateau-Cambrésis; in which, the Savoy, including Turin, was returned to the rule of the mercenary duke. That the Battle occurred on the Saint's feast instigated Phillip's denomination and design of the palace of El Escorial. Emmanuel Philibert, on his return to Turin in 1562, renovated the old ducal chapel of Santa Maria ad Presepae, which is still present near the entrance, and erected this church dedicated to St. Lawrence. Construction of the contemporary church began in 1634.
The architect Guarino Guarini was a great innovator in Baroque principles first developed by the great Roman Baroque architect Francesco Borromini, in particular the play with optical effects and organic "deconstruction" of the classical orders and principles of column and entablature. However, in San Lorenzo Guarini took these further. The ground plan is a kind of square which becomes an octagon at the level of the entablatures above the columns only to change again to become a Greek cross at the level of the pendentives of the vaults. Again, the base of the dome is circular in plan yet the lantern above it octagonal. The dome itself is supported by eight ribs forming a lattice similar to those found in mosques and Romanesque churches in Spain. To this superposition of - by the standards of convention - contradictory central plans is added an elliptical choir. The high altar, separated from the nave by a convex and concave archway receives natural light from a hidden dome, devices drawn from the other key Roman Baroque architect Gian Lorenzo Bernini.
( Text From : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Lorenzo,_Turin )
Location : Piazza Castello
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Portici Series Via Po
The arcade in Via Po starts from piazza Castello up until piazza Vittorio, it is characterised by a serie of old books stalls under the arcade on one side of the street which is near the University.
Location : Via Po
Location : Via Po
Saturday, February 1, 2020
CDP February Theme : Streetscape
The February CDP theme is Streetscape, and I chose this street view of via Pietro Micca which is one of the most photgraphed street of Turin.
Via Pietro Micca is one of the historic streets in the center of Turin. It begins in Piazza Castello and ends in Piazza Solferino. It was built in the period 1885-1897, obliquely with respect to the road network, thus becoming one of the first streets to break the typical chessboard of the Roman Quadrilateral; because of its design it was nicknamed the Diagonal.
The architectural matrix of the street is the eclectic style; it was named after Pietro Micca, a name attributed to the soldier of the Savoy army believed to be the author of the explosion in one of the tunnels that ran under the military Citadel, provoked to prevent the invasion of French troops during the siege of Turin in 1706.
Beisde the long straight street which direct the view towards the Grattacielo SanPaolo at the end, I think the gorgeous building with the circular corner is another major eye catcher.
Location : Via Pietro Micca
Please click here to view the other entries.
Via Pietro Micca is one of the historic streets in the center of Turin. It begins in Piazza Castello and ends in Piazza Solferino. It was built in the period 1885-1897, obliquely with respect to the road network, thus becoming one of the first streets to break the typical chessboard of the Roman Quadrilateral; because of its design it was nicknamed the Diagonal.
The architectural matrix of the street is the eclectic style; it was named after Pietro Micca, a name attributed to the soldier of the Savoy army believed to be the author of the explosion in one of the tunnels that ran under the military Citadel, provoked to prevent the invasion of French troops during the siege of Turin in 1706.
Beisde the long straight street which direct the view towards the Grattacielo SanPaolo at the end, I think the gorgeous building with the circular corner is another major eye catcher.
Location : Via Pietro Micca
Please click here to view the other entries.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)







